I buy me a coffee — The reflexive in German

When I lived in Vancouver I had a German friend who would always ask us the following question: “I’m going to buy me a coffee, would anyone else like one?”

We always tried to explain to him that English unlike German does not use the reflexive as much as German. Though in the case above one could exchange “me” with “myself” and it would be a very explicit sentence.

We’ve moved. You’ll find the full article here: http://marathonsprachen.com/i-buy-me-a-coffee-the-reflexive-in-german/

4 comments

  1. […] make. When you here: “We see us tomorrow.” you know that too see someone in German is reflexive and “Make my homeworks” tells us that in German they machen their homework and not tun […]

  2. […] ansehen is used with a reflexive (dative) you are looking at something or someone in order to become acquainted with it and know it in […]

  3. […] made the sentence reflexive on purpose. Read more here. 47.395124 8.510160 Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterDiggStumbleUponLinkedInRedditLike […]

Leave a Reply

