What are they asking after I buy my groceries? — German shopping vocabulary

Working with the expat community in Zurich there is a question I hear again and again and a short story that gets recounted. It goes something like this:

“I was in the Migros the other day and I bought my groceries. I didn’t understand how much the cashier asked for, but I saw what I owed, CHF 18.55. I paid with a 20 franc note and got the right change back and then she asked me a question, but I had no idea what she asked. A little panicked I quickly packed my stuff up and left. What do they ask at the grocery store?”

We’ve moved. You’ll find the full article here: http://marathonsprachen.com/german_shopping_vocabulary/

2 comments

  1. Meredith · · Reply

    Great post! Thanks to Newly Swissed’s link on Facebook, I have found your blog. I especially liked your words of encouragement. As an expat learning the language, I also try to ‘read’ the intonation, and think about the context. It’s when the cashier goes off the script, or is unusually friendly, that I sometimes fumble!

Leave a Reply

